This Slope, That Slope

Tromping around New York with Wes and Taylor was just what I needed for a reset. My twins were about to turn 30, and my son and I got to spend a few days up there thanks to my daughter-in-law, my daughter and, as I came to find out, my daughter’s boyfriend, Seán.

We were to meet Seán later when we were to return to Hartley’s for “trad night” – a couple of hours of traditional Irish music where Taylor tends bar.

That morning, Wes was up with the chickens to drop in at a local gym called Harbor Fitness in Park Slope, according to my daughter the fancier neighbor of South Slope, where she lives. By the time I woke up, he was back – getting ready to move a couch out of the apartment with Mary, Taylor’s friend and roommate.

Typically, a piece of furniture doesn’t last long once it is put out on the street. It’s an interesting phenomenon. By the time we headed off to check out Strand Book Store and the Union Square Holiday Market, some of the cushions had already disappeared.

But that couch was to play a role in our lives again later. Come to think of it, maybe the couch was moved out the day before. Dammit. I don’t remember.

But that day, we also celebrated the twins’ 30th birthdays early with a cake and candles thanks to Mary. This is a moment I will always cherish. Also grateful that Mary snapped some photos.

I could have stayed the day at Strand Book Shop, exploring its boasted “18 Miles of Books,” but we stayed a good while. This visit, I passed on perusing the stacks out on the sidewalk, but I regret that now. I could have stocked up and asked Taylor to ship the used books to me later.

Catherine and Taylor at Strand Book Store

The holiday market was wonderful – a sprawling bazaar with artisans, food vendors, retailers, music and much more – a feast for the senses, for sure, with the hum of bustling humanity. Taylor bought me a red winter beanie with a patch that reads, “Don’t Be A Dick.” I am proud of that hat, and love wearing it. I am sorry more people don’t actually read what it says, though. I might effect meaningful change if they did. Sometimes I make sure folks can see it, especially my friends.

I was happy that we got to see Catherine – a longtime friend of Taylor’s going back to the sixth or seventh grade – and a young lady who also struck out for NYC after college. She’s family. I always wax nostalgic when I see her and I am proud of both of them. Catherine influenced me and Wes to try the awesome empanadas from a vendor at the holiday market.

Taylor and Catherine

Wes ducked across the street to grab some takeout from the hot bar at Whole Foods. I was glad – because, here I go again, there was a restroom. Armed with what he wanted, we parted ways with Catherine – and Taylor accompanied us around as we made our way toward Greenwich Village – walking through Washington Square Park on the way.

@rograt1

Just following my twins on a recent trip to #NYC #twins #twinlife #twinbirthday

♬ original sound – Roger Yale

I love seeing the twins – my babies – interacting as adults. If I live long enough, I’ll probably be the same when they are 50.

Wes was intent on trying as much New York pizza as he could – I call it “Pizzaquest” – and we were on our way to John’s of Bleeker Street. Taylor planned on leaving us there so she could scope out a bar called Peg’s Cavalier in Queens, which was to be the site of her 30th birthday soiree. Unfortunately, Wes and I would already be back in Myrtle Beach by their actual birthday.

Soon, it appeared before us as we walked. On the left corner of their burgundy awning were the words, “No Slices.”

Whoops.

Thank Goodness those empanadas were small.

After some debate, Wes and I decided to go in for a whole pie and Taylor took off. We “split” the pizza, meaning Wes had four slices and I had two – more than enough for me. Wes later told me that it was the best pizza he ever had.

 All the while, the Whole Foods bag was with him.

More to come.

Enjoy these blog posts? I’d love it if you would subscribe.

3 comments
  1. mariahcurtis48 said:

    just super

    loved every word

    can’t wait till next excerpt

    love you ❤️❤️

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment