Thankful Indeed

Here’s a little something about Thanksgiving from my daily writing discipline. I say “daily” and “discipline,” but a couple of writing assignments recently supplanted it.

I had a wonderful Thanksgiving. Low-key, with excellent food from Brenda – traditional fare. Her nephew Christian came early to help her while the Macy’s parade was on TV. I woke up a bit later and was ready to help with my usual cleanup duties in the kitchen – and I also tidied and vacuumed.

Wes, Leigh and Anderson showed up before six, which was to be our start time. There was a knock at the door – and when I opened it, Leigh had put Anderson down to examine the little lit tree Brenda set up outside. She gave him a plastic Christmas ornament to hold for a moment, but as soon as he wanted to taste it, she gently took it back, picked him up and handed him to me.

That was all I needed. I held him and carried him around for a bit – and I was to hold him a lot during the evening. I even had the honor of feeding him from a plate of Brenda’s awesome food, making sure everything was bite-sized for him. He ate like a champ – and it was the most rewarding experience of the evening.

Xavier and Xavion showed up not long after the Yales did. Xavion is in the eighth grade now. He’s tall and quiet. A good kid, and someone I have known since he was a baby. Time flies.

Xavier and Wes have been the best of friends since middle school. He is a fantastic father.

But Anderson was the star of the show that night. He’s such a happy little guy.

For a little while during and after I fed him, we were at our little dinner table with the guys – Wes, Christian and Xavier (Xavion was quietly on his phone at the other side of the room and Leigh and Brenda chatted on the couch). It seemed like Anderson was soaking in all of the banter – and every now and then he’d say something. It doesn’t matter that we couldn’t understand his language. He knew what he was talking about, and was like he wanted to contribute to the conversation.

He says “hi,” though – sometimes with a little wave – and that’s the cutest “hi” I ever heard.

After everybody left, Brenda and I did some touch-ups in the kitchen. She put the remainder of the feast away while I washed the remaining dishes. Thank God for paper plates, though.

I put away Anderson’s playmat and toys, and as I did, I felt his energy in the things he played with. I get that same feeling when I go to his house. His things. His vibe.

Enjoy these blog posts? I’d love it if you would subscribe.

4 comments
  1. Frank said:

    Every time you write about Anderson I can feel the love exploding from the page. Your love for him shows in every word and the joy he brings you is so special to read about.
    In the future he will cherish every single blog/article you wrote about him and your feelings you shared with the readers. And he will remember how very lucky he is to have a Grandfather like you.
    Please never stop sharing his and your story together with us.
    Love you, Rog.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. mariahcurtis48 said:

    Your story was beautiful; almost as beautiful as your grandson.
    You have been so blessed with the ability to get your thoughts out to others!

    The picture of you and Anderson took me back almost 60 years. I can see your dad doing the same exact thing with you and Chris.

    Love you

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment