I’ll Show Them Cute

Chris with HIM

I was playing a show with my brother at LuLu’s North Myrtle Beach last night.

Family is in town, and most of them showed up for the gig, and I am happy about that.

But something happened that topped it all.

My heart skipped a bit when I saw three people come in: My son, my daughter-in-law (hard to miss with her gorgeous red hair) – and I know they were pushing a stroller…

It was HIM!

Anderson, my grandson, came to his first Yale Brothers show!

When I play shows, I enjoy making eye contact and waving at people – sometimes to distraction – and I thought for sure I’d be running offstage every two minutes to see Anderson. But I kept my cool, never mind my excitement. Keeping my cool is different from other people keeping their cool. My face is not an ally in these situations. It tells on me, which is why I probably wouldn’t be a very good poker player.

My brother went to the table a couple of times while we were playing. He has the benefit of playing his guitar with a wireless connection. I am tethered to my stage piano.

Anderson stole the show! On break, I got to hold him. Some young ladies were there for a bachelorette party, and there were oohs and ahs when they saw him. I brought Anderson to their table, and the group let out a heartfelt “awwwww” – and another passing young lady said something like… “I can’t…even…”

I get it. Me either.

There was a commercial where two grandfathers were exchanging photos of their grandchildren from their laptops, and one of them said… “Cute? I’ll show him cute!”

That’s where I’m at.

Somebody pinch me.

6 comments
  1. John Creech said:

    Got you right in the feels, didn’t it?

    Like

  2. Lloyd Royall said:

    Roger, th

    Like

  3. Anderson is definitely CUTE! Matter of fact, y’all are all a fine looking bunch, so he fits right in! I’m sure it was a great show! Mona

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment