KISS This

I signed onto Ticketmaster just before ten last Friday morning. My daughter and daughter-in-law did the same thing.

Endgame: Score tickets to KISS at Madison Square Garden for one of their two final shows ever (I’ll believe that when I see it). Friday at ten, the tickets were to go on sale to the general public.

The idea was to go in connection with my twins’ 30th birthday. My daughter lives in Brooklyn. My son lives here in Myrtle Beach with my daughter-in-law and their baby boy – my grandson.

My daughter isn’t fond of KISS at all, but she was down with going – to do something she knew her brother enjoyed. It’s also historic, after all.

Maybe we’re behind the times, but my daughter and I were looking to spend no more than $120 on our seats (plus my girlfriend). We thought these would be just a step better than nosebleed – but at least we would have been there.

I once lucked out and scored Elton John tickets at Barclays Center for something like $80 apiece. And those were relatively good seats. That was a fun SHOW.

Check this out…

When I signed on, I was put into the “waiting room” until 10 a.m., at which point I was sent into the queue, with more than 2,000 people in front of me.

It didn’t take long until it was my turn.

I can’t say I was shocked, but with the exception of a couple of premium retail seats priced at something like $2,000, the tickets had already become resale tickets. The cheapest tickets I saw were already north of $500.

I saw a resale ticket priced at $3151.50.

What’s going on? Were there 2,000 bots in front of me? Scalpers?

I love KISS. My son loves KISS. But come on. We saw them in Raleigh, N.C. not too long ago. You can read about that HERE. The seats were very reasonable., and we essentially said goodbye to the band then. But we might have enjoyed potential guest appearances – maybe Peter and Ace? Maybe Doc McGhee coming on and waving to everyone. But no way is this worth at least $500 apiece plus airfare and hotel.

My experience on Friday put a bad taste in my mouth. How did those tickets get to resale so quickly?

Stick those tickets where the sun don’t shine.

And don’t you dare come back. This is the End of the Road, after all.

Enjoy these blog posts? I’d love it if you would subscribe.

2 comments
  1. Frank Horn said:

    That’s a bummer. I know how much you all love KISS. It is crazy and sad how the process of buying tickets for concerts has changed for the worse. It’s old school but when fans had to wait in line for the tickets to come out at least you knew you stood a chance of scoring a ticket at the initial price and you weren’t battling a computer program for the opportunity. A similar thing is happening at theme parks where you have to buy an upgraded pass just for the chance to ride the newest attraction. There is no guarantee you will be able to ride the attraction with just your park admission. The parks have even gotten rid of the regular stand by lines for these newest attractions, so even if you were willing to wait in line, like the old days of waiting for concert tickets, this is no longer an option for you. You either pay up for the upgraded pass or miss out on riding. It totally leaves a sour taste in your mouth about the theme park experience when even after paying your admission price, you will be left on the outside looking in at the newest rides.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hi Frank! Damn – I didn’t know about those crazy theme park/corporate antics. That sucks just as bad! Like I told my friend Randy – there’s no love for the working man in that – and now these – equations.

      Like

Leave a comment