The Main Event

Photo by Dominika Roseclay on Pexels.com

I am going to be a grandfather very soon.

My daughter-in-law is going to be induced tomorrow.

I am blissfully ignorant of the process, but I understand that the delivery ETA is anybody’s guess. Could be quick. Could be drawn out.

And I can only imagine what Leigh is about to go through.

She’s a tough cookie, my daughter-in-law. She has worked throughout her pregnancy with a dignity and resolve that renders me speechless. I already know that she is going to make a wonderful mother.

It’s funny how time seems to compress now that the big moment approaches.

This reminds me of any significant life event. Things seem so far off at first but as time goes by, the reality sets in.

Weddings are like that. Babies are like that too.

Ready or not, the day arrives – the result of a snowball set in motion months earlier.

It blows my mind that my son is going to be a father. In a blink of an eye, the circle of life continues – and I am sure Wesley will embrace every facet of fatherhood.

Soon, these two beautiful humans will step into their new names: Mommy and Daddy.

My grandson is coming, and things are getting real.

If you enjoy my blog posts, I’d love it if you would subscribe.

4 comments
  1. Frank Horn said:

    We’re so excited Rog, and from your blogs we all can feel your excitement as well. The Circle of Life for sure. Can’t wait to see what the future holds. Thanks for sharing your emotions with us all and taking us on this journey with you.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment